我们的历史

我们的历史

西圣盖博谷的男孩女孩俱乐部是我们的创始人托马斯·弗里德里希博士的领导下,成立于1972年。意识到没有地方为自己的孩子上学后的活动参加,托马斯博士帮助捐赠建设和提供种子资金来启动俱乐部节目开始了俱乐部。

在80年代中期董事会意识到迫切需要一个新的俱乐部设施,以适应不断增长的会员,也提供了扩展的方案和服务。这是一个雄心勃勃的资本运动的开始筹集$ 1.1百万为新的多用途设施。
通过董事会,支持基金会,忠于职守的员工,并从城市的官员合作的专门委员会的共同努力下,我们的财政目标实现了。在1988年10月8日,我们新的男孩和女孩俱乐部敞开了大门,在蒙特利公园市目前的会所。成员立即从一学年平均每天70飙升至大约200。
1992年,我们增加了7000平方英尺到我们的俱乐部设施,并于1988年我们打开二楼青少年中心专门为青少年设计的,提供各种青少年节目和服务。
自2012年以来,俱乐部已经放言超过2100成员成员总数。除了我们的主要成员俱乐部,我们也有在公共房屋逐一雷蒙娜花园,一个在法院埃斯特拉达2个站点。此外,我们在拉蓬特和在鲍德温公园早教中心站点的站点。有了这四个其他网站相结合,我们所服务的其他1000多家青年。
1972年大约
Share by:

Our History

OUR HISTORY

The Boys & Girls Club of West San Gabriel Valley was established in 1972 under the leadership of our founder, Dr. Friedrich Thomas. Realizing there was no place for his own children to participate in after school activities, Dr. Thomas helped start the club by donating the building and providing seed money to initiate club programming.

In the mid 1980s the Board of Directors realized the pressing need for a new club facility to accommodate the growing membership and also provide expanded programs and services. This was the beginning of an ambitious capital campaign to raise $1.1 million for a new multipurpose facility.
 
Through the combined efforts of a dedicated Board of Directors, supportive foundations, committed staff, and cooperation from city officials, our fiscal goal was realized. On October 8, 1988 our new Boys & Girls Club opened its doors to the current clubhouse in Monterey Park. Membership immediately skyrocketed from a school year daily average of 70 to approximately 200.
 
In 1992 we added 7,000 square feet to our club facility and in 1988 we opened our second floor Teen Center specifically designed for teens, offering a variety of teen programming and services.
 
Since 2012 the Club has boasted a total membership in excess of 2,100 members. In addition to our main clubhouse members, we also have 2 sites in public housing one at Ramona Gardens and one at Estrada Courts. Additionally we have a site in La Puente and and Early Learning Center site in Baldwin Park. With these four additional sites combined, we are serving over 1,000 additional youth.
Circa 1972
Share by: